Skip to content

There will be choices in November

For the first time in a decade the citizens of Whigham will have a choice in who serves on their city council.
When qualifying for the November 7 municipal election ended last Friday, a total of seven candidates had qualified for the five council seats up for election. Mayor George Trulock was the only candidate to qualify for mayor so he will automatically win reelection.
Incumbents Jim Sellers and Joel Singletary qualified for reelection but Council members Jeffrey Brinson, Janice Brinson, and Lynn Buckins did not seek reelection.
Other candidates who did qualify to run were Travis Brinson, David Ganous, Kay Hash, Ashley King, and Dusty Brown.
According to Whigham City Clerk Lisa Calhoun, for the last 10 years only the number of candidates needed to fill the open seats qualified which eliminated the need for an election.
Cairo voters will also have a choice in the election of a new mayor and for the District 2 council seat.
Cairo City Clerk Carolyn Lee reported that no one qualified to oppose District 4 Councilman James H. (Jimmy) Douglas, but two candidates qualified for mayor and two candidates qualified for the District 2 council seat.
As previously reported, Hansell Bearden and Booker Gainor are vying for the mayor’s office. Late Friday afternoon Demario Byrden qualified to oppose veteran councilman Ernest Cloud for the District 2 council post.
Cloud, who went on the council the year after Byrden was born, is the city’s longest serving city councilman.

Leave a Comment