Skip to content

You can vote this Saturday

Early voting continues and this Saturday from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. Grady County registered voters can also cast early ballots.
The one-day of Saturday voting will be held at the Grady County Board of Registrars office located at 24 Third Ave. N.E., behind the courthouse.
As of the close of business Tuesday, only 169 early votes had been cast.
Chief Registrar Jean Marshall said that while local turnout is low, it is higher than in some other Georgia counties.
Of the 169 votes cast 128 are republican ballots and 41 are democratic ballots.
The most hotly contested race on the May 24 ballot is the nonpartisan race for Superior Court Judge of the South Georgia Judicial Circuit featuring candidates Mike Bankston, Ryan Cleveland and Heather Lanier.
The judge’s race is the only locally contested election, but the ballot includes statewide races.
On the republican ballot, voters will be asked to decide between incumbent U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson and challengers Mary Kay Bacallao and Derrick Grayson.
Republican voters will also cast ballots between incumbent Public Service Commissioner Tim Echols and challengers Kellie Pollard Austin and Michelle Miller.
Greg Duke, Bobby Scott and Diane Vann are all seeking the republican nomination for the Second Congressional District post currently held by democrat Sanford Bishop.
It will not be until the November general election in which the local races for sheriff, chief magistrate and tax commissioner will be decided.
Early voting will run through Friday, May 20, between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., daily.
The general primary and nonpartisan election will be held on Tuesday, May 24, when all 13 county polling places will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Leave a Comment