Skip to content

Taste of the Town is this Saturday

A delight for the taste buds is on the menu this weekend with the Taste of the Town-Spring Sampler ready to get underway Saturday.
There are already new additions to the happenings with Jenna Jones of Miss Myrt’s and SweetPeach Cakes and Bakery joining the cupcake judging team of Cairo Fire Chief Jim Fieldings and Kim Huggins of Delicious Delights. The trio will decide which hospital department has baked up the best cupcake and earned bragging rights for the year. The Cupcake War will take place at the Davis Park gazebo adjacent to the Cairo Womans Club where the main event will take place.
Taste of the Town is a fund raiser to support Grady General Support League, which purchases items for the hospital not covered in its regular budget.
Taste of the Town will begin at 6 p.m. at the Womans Club this Saturday, March 2 and last until 8 p.m.
Mr. Chick revealed this week they will serve cheesy potato casserole. Other participating cooks and restaurants include: Maryland Fried Chicken, serving chicken strips; Delicious Delights, a sweet treat; Jose’s, chips and salsa; Jen’s, fried rice; Country Time BBQ and Seafood, BBQ; Teresa Pearce of Aunt Shirley’s Brittle, peanut brittle; and Beth Skaja of Grady General Hospital’s Fifth Street Cafe, shrimp and grits; Bob Anderson, gumbo; Drew Pyrz, chilli; Howard Thrower and Bob Kral, BBQ; Sandra Reid who will serve a spinach shrimp dip; and Stacy Munford, andouille sausage jambalaya.
Cairo High Schoo’s jazz band will enhance the evening’s ambiance, performing in the courtyard.
Advance tickets are $20 each and may be purchased at the following locations: Grady General Hospital, Kingfish Korners, Cairo Eye Care, Hester’s Insurance Agency, Dollar Business Solutions, Center Drugs, Capital City Bank, the Cairo-Grady County Chamber of Commerce, and United National Bank.
Support League board members also have tickets to sell. Those members are:  Alan Saul, Billy Hester, Bob Anderson, Chadd Mathis, Charlene Powell, Josh Bell, Clair McCaskill, Pam Forrester, Jane Trulock, Ellen Jeter (chairwoman), Jason McGhin, Drs. Jonathan and Kendra Lynch, Susan Chastain, Drew Pyrz, Marilyn Dollar, Phyllis VanLandingham, Felicia Hunter, Crystal Ramm, and Dori Griffin.

Leave a Comment