Skip to content

Early voting ends Friday

Grady County elections officials say they are pleased with the voter participation in the July 31 primaries and nonpartisan election.
A total of 70 voters took advantage of Saturday voting last weekend, which ran from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m.
Chief Registrar Jean Marshall said that was nearly three times as many as during any previous Saturday voting.
As of the close of business Tuesday, 1,067 votes had been cast in early voting. Of that total 858 democratic ballots had been cast and 209 republican ballots.
Early voting winds up this Friday, July 27 at 5 p.m. Voters may cast ballots early at the Registrar’s Office on the first floor of the Grady County Courthouse.
Next Tuesday is election day and all 13 of the county’s polling places will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.
Election officials remind voters that Republican candidate for sheriff Earl Stuckey is unopposed in the Republican primary. However, incumbent Grady County Sheriff Harry Young is facing Democratic primary opposition from Odell Jolly and Jerome Smiley.
In the event of a runoff, only voters who voted Democratic ballots in the primary would be eligible to vote in a Democratic primary runoff election.
The winner of the Democratic nomination will face Stuckey in November’s general election.
In the Republican primary, the only locally contested race is between Darren Moore and Jeff Worsham, who are both seeking the District 1 Grady County Board of Education post. The winner will face the lone Democrat, Mike Russell, in November.
For the two open Public Service Commission seats, voters casting Republican ballots will be asked to choose between Chuck Eaton, the incumbent, and Matt Reid for the first Public Service Commissioner post.
Republicans must also choose between incumbent Stan Wise and challenger Pam Davidson for the second Public Service Commissioner post.
Rick Allen, Ken Deloach and John House are all competing for the Republican nomination for the Second Congressional District seat, currently held by Rep. Sanford Bishop, who is unopposed on the Democratic ticket.
Another key election pits Probate Court Clerk Denise Maddox and Celeste Tyler, who are hoping to succeed retiring Probate Judge Sadie W. Voyles.
The race for probate judge is a nonpartisan race and all voters, both Democrats and Republicans, will have an opportunity to cast ballots in that race.
Grady County voters will also vote up or down the Southwest Georgia District Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax or TSPLOST.

Leave a Comment