Skip to content

VanLandingham elected to Electric Cities of Georgia board

Cairo Mayor Richard VanLandingham has been elected to the board of directors of the Electric Cities of Georgia (ECG).
ECG is made up by 51 participants including the cities of Cairo and Whigham.
Votes were tallied last week and Mayor VanLandingham and Ned Watson, general manager of the Fort Valley Utility Commission, were elected to the ECG board of directors.
Other members of the board include Chairman Jerry Permenter of Adel, Bill Bosch of Griffin, Mayor Larry Guest of Elberton, Ron Mull of Marietta and Lynn Williams of Thomasville.
ECG is a spin-off of the Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia, of which Cairo and Whigham are also member cities. According to City Manager Chris Addleton, ECG was spun off to provide services outside the original scope of MEAG, such as electric system management, economic development and training services.
Mayor VanLandingham was nominated as a candidate for the post by Addleton. The Cairo mayor was one of six nominees from across the state. He will be filling an unexpired term that ends in March 2012, at which time the mayor could seek re-election to the ECG board.
A full term for ECG board members is three years.
Mayor VanLandingham says he is excited to be elected to the board.
“I am really interested in how ECG can help member cities with economic development. There is some real potential to help us locally with economic development,” the mayor said.

Leave a Comment