Skip to content

Super speeder law goes into effect Friday

Speeders in Georgia beware. A new law going into effect Jan. 1, 2010, adds a hefty fine for those drivers deemed “Super Speeders.”
The new law, HB160, adds-on another $200 state fee for drivers convicted of speeding at 75 mph or higher on any two-lane road, or convicted of speeding at 85 and over anywhere in Georgia. The new state fee will be in addition to any local fines already in effect in the jurisdiction where the speeding offense occurs.
“I think it’s going to get some people’s attention, especially those people out on the highway oblivious to the speed limit. They’re going to get there no matter what,” comments Chief Keith Sandefur of the Cairo Police Department. Sandefur said the law will probably not affect any drivers within the city limits since posted limits are lower.
Any driver convicted of violating this new Georgia law will be classified by the state as a “Super Speeder,” and subject to an additional fee. State officials with the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety say the law is designed to get tough on high-risk drivers who are endangering other motorists and ignoring warnings to slow down.
According to Bob Dallas, director of the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, there were 384 Georgians killed in speed-related crashes in 2007 and 309 in 2008. “That makes speeding a habitual disaster just waiting to happen. But it’s one of life’s bad habits that can and should be kicked, because nearly a quarter of Georgia crash fatalities involve motorists who continue to drive at deadly excessive speeds,” states Dallas.
Failure to pay the “Super Speeder” fee results in an additional $50 fee and suspension of the offender’s driving privileges and license.
The new fees will be used to help fund Georgia’s trauma care hospital system, where approximately 60 percent of all trauma-care-patients are crash related.
Authorities contend there are safety reasons for posted speed limits and any time motorists drive at illegal speeds they put themselves, their passengers and others at tremendous risk. Crash forces double on impact with every 10 mph increase in speed above 50 mph.
To learn more about the “SuperSpeeder Law” visit the website
Grady County Sheriff’ Harry Young was unavailable for comment on this article.

Leave a Comment