Skip to content

Monday is last day to register to vote

Next Monday, July 2, will be the last day to be able to register to vote in the July 31 election.
According to Grady County Chief Registrar Jean Marshall, through June 19, there are 14,713 active and inactive registered voters in Grady County.
An active voter is considered any one who has voted within the last two general elections.
The registration books for the July 31 election will close at 5 p.m. next Monday.
Anyone interested in registering to vote may do so at the Registrar’s Office on the first floor of the courthouse or at Roddenbery Memorial Library, the Department of Family & Children Services, Cairo High School and Cairo or Whigham city halls.
Early voting will get underway on Monday, July 9, and run through Friday, July 27. Absentee ballots are currently available by application and will be available through July 27. To seek application for an absentee ballot contact the Probate Court at 229-377-4621.
The July 31 ballot will include the Democratic primary race between incumbent Sheriff Harry Young and challengers Jerome Smiley and Odell Jolly.
The winner of the Democratic primary will face Republican Earl Stuckey in November.
In the Republican primary, the only local contested race is between Darren Moore and Jeff Worsham, who are both seeking the District 1 Grady County Board of Education post. The winner will face the lone Democrat, Mike Russell, in November.
Voters casting Republican ballots will also be asked to choose between Chuck Eaton, the incumbent, and Matt Reid for the Public Service Commissioner.
Republicans must also choose between incumbent Stan Wise and challenger Pam Davidson for Public Service Commissioner.
Rick Allen, Ken Deloach and John House are all competing for the Republican nomination for the Second Congressional District seat, currently held by Representative Sanford Bishop, who is unopposed on the Democratic ticket.
Another key election pits Probate Court Clerk Denise Maddox and Celeste Tyler, who are hoping to succeed Probate Judge Sadie W. Voyles, who is retiring.
The race for probate judge is a nonpartisan race and all voters, both Democrats and Republicans, will have the opportunity to cast ballots in that race.
Grady County voters will also vote up or down the Southwest Georgia District Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax or TSPLOST in July.
For more information about registering to vote contact Chief Registrar Marshall by calling 229-377-1897.

Leave a Comment