Skip to content

“Battle of the Bands” to be held Saturday

Several area bands are tuning up their instruments and vocal chords in preparation for “Battle of the Bands” taking place at a Grady County saloon this weekend.
The Wild Rose Saloon, 2289 Highway 111 South, is hosting the musical competition Saturday. The event starts at 2 p.m. and is expected to last until 10 p.m., and has a cover charge of $5 per person. Music lovers 18 and older are invited to attend. Anyone under 21 will be considered a designated driver.
“We want to help bring support to local musicians, and local venues,” says Autumn Lane, event promoter, “it’s a community event!” In addition to the music, there will be grilled hamburgers and hotdogs for sale.
The bands will play before the live audience, and a panel of judges. Those judges are Autumn Skye Franklin; Jack Davis; Alison Harvey; Gary Hepburn; and James Enfinger Sr.
There are five Bands on the competition schedule:
Hybrid Mind, a hard rock band, includes three performers from Cairo, Josh Roach on vocals and lead guitar; Brad McKinnon on rhythm guitar; and Malcolm Williams on drums, along with Sean Lauderdale of Nashville on bass.
The Wailin’ Wolves Band is a Thomasville and Tallahassee based band that plays blues, classic rock, alternative and R&B. Song writer and guitarist “Wailin’ Bert” Calderon leads the music with Tracy Yacobellis as the lead female vocalist; “Slim Shaw” From on the blues harp; Bob White on drums; Robert Bloodworth on bass guitar and male lead vocals; and Jay Schwartz on keyboard. Shawn Scott and “BB” Bryant Williams make occasional guest appearances with the band.
Your Captain Speaking is a band out of Thomasville. Members include John Russell Skinner as lead vocalist and on guitar; Rachel Espendez lead vocals and guitar; and E.G. on lead guitar and vocals.
Rogue will also perform Saturday. Band members include Chazz Clooney on guitar and vocals; Gene Hodge on guitar; Brady Fairbanks on bass; and Allen Fairbanks on drums. Rogue’s members are all of Tallahassee, Fla.
Drew Kelly and The Reckless rounds out the competition. The Moultrie based band includes Drew Kelly as lead vocalist and on guitar; Chris Cox on lead guitar and vocals; Ernest Hagen on bass guitar; and Lane Clark on drums and vocals.
As a special bonus, Southland Express will perform between the second and third Acts.
The band crowned winner of the battle will receive a plaque and bragging rights, according to promoter Autumn Lane.

Leave a Comment